Reviews

Awards

2014 -BEST BARBECUE – Baker’s Ribs – Canton by Van Zandt County Reader’s Choice Awards

2013 BEST BBQ by Rowlett Lakeshore Times

Weatherford Baker’s Ribs named best of 2012 by Weatherford Telegram 2012.

Voted one of “The Fifty Best Barbecue Joints in Texas” by Texas Monthly 2006, 2008, 2012

Best of D Magazine – 2010

Big-City Barbecue: 101 Places to Satisfy Your Urban ’Cue Craving

Weatherford Baker’s Ribs voted Best BBQ in Weatherford by readers. Read More

Best Barbeque Dallas The Dallas Observer 2006

“BBQ Top 10″ — Insider’s Guide to Twin Cities BBQ — MPLS, St. Paul Magazine

Best Barbeque Ribs D Magazine January 2003

Press

Fort Worth Weekly reviewed Weatherford  “Superlative ’cue and fried pies make Baker’s Ribs a destination.”  Read Article

Parker County Today reviews Baker’s Ribs Weatherford in April 2013  Read Article

Texas Monthly – “They smoke a seasoned turkey breast then dunk the whole thing into a fryer to finish it off. The result is juicy turkey whose slices have thick crispy edges. It was some of the better smoked turkey I’ve had…..The ribs were also excellent. The meat was moist and came from the bone perfectly. A subtle sweet rub allowed a good dark crust to form and the meat was very smokey.”  from September 26, 2012 by Daniel Vaughn Read Full Review here

Dallas Morning News announces Baker’s Ribs is bringing fried pies to the State Fair of Texas “The current breaking news is that Dallas’ own Baker’s Ribs has secured a space on the midway and will be serving both sweet and savory fried pies.” The Baker family will be returning to familiar stomping grounds. Its matriarch, Jeanne Baker, spent almost four decades working for the State Fair, starting as a secretary in the exhibits department and eventually serving as the department’s director. Baker retired in 1994. Her daughter, Suzie Duncan, said the family is thrilled to have an opportunity “to become part of the fried food tradition at the greatest fair in the nation. I was raised on the fairgrounds, and it feels as if I’m coming home.” See Entire Article.

Oh Hey Dallas does a funny bit on Original Fried PIe Shop in deep ellum location. See Blog from July 25, 2012.

Dallas Observer – Baker’s Ribs is a House of Shame. You Should Come Visit “Ooh, fried brisket pie!” exclamation count: 32 Shame level: Red “I liked the pulled-pork fried pie better than the brisket…” By Alice Laussade Wed., Jun. 27 2012 at 9:00 AM

Dallas Morning News – Baker’s Ribs founder upholds barbecue honor at New York block party dedicated to the art of ‘cue See Article.

DFW.com -”Since Baker’s has ribs right in the name, I saved them for last. These pigsicles were meaty, St. Louis-cut and cooked to perfection. They had a good flavor, not at all hammy, and were tender without falling off onto your plate….” See entire blog.

Dallas Observer First Look at Baker’s Ribs Deep Ellum new location with the Original Fried Pie Shop….”The Original Fried Pie Shop stands alone, with its own counter and register. One could order fried pies and never have to deal with the barbecue line. Or one could easily dabble in both. If we were one, that’s what one would do.”See entire blog

 Testimonials

The brisket breakfast tacos are the best tacos ever.
We had a wonderful dinner there last Saturday evening with family. Facebook post July 8, 2013
Best sausage sandwich around! Facebook Review August 23, 2013
Pulled pork sandwich (cole slaw on it) and make sure you get the blackberry fried pie. Nice! 4.0 star rating 4/3/2013 on Yelp.com
Bakers ribs is hands down the best! Went to the Rowlett location the other night and was completely satisfied! Facebook comment, 2013
You've never had a Thanksgiving or Christmas until you had them with a BAKER'S RIBS smoked ham or turkey!! They are the best ever!!! facebook comment, 2013
By far one of the best ribs we have had and fried pies.  Facebook comment, 2013
They say Thomas Wolfe sat down and cried when he first entered the library at Harvard because he realized he could never read all the books there. I almost sat down and cried after I ate the pecan fried pie because I realized I could not eat all of the fried pie flavors you had. It was wonderful. Hope to get back to Dallas sometime soon.
Great, great job. Thank you so much for helping make Beauty, Business & Brains a huge success. We couldn't have done it without you. Your pies are to die for. We love you, your barbecue and your wonderful fried pies. Thank you so much DeeAnna and Brian. You guys are fabulous!
The lunch that we ordered from Bakers yesterday was fantastic. My team enjoyed it tremendously. You as well as your organization were professional and very accommodating...